The Digg Crew wants to hear your thoughts!
Please take our short survey about Digg and potential feature ideas.
Best Price Camera - Avoid!
cameracon.ning.com — Getting a thousand dollars off a high end DSLR camera is a *steal*! For Best Price Camera...*not* for you. ResellerRatings.com has a Six-Month Rating of 0.11 / 10 - that's not a typo.
- 131 diggs
- digg it
- zigziggityzoo, on 02/15/2008, -1/+6I bought from their eBay storefront. When you call Tech support they pick one of their store names as their greeting (usually not the one you bought from). Leaves a bad taste in your mouth. Their salespeople are sheisty, try to upsell repeatedly. If you're vigilant, there are good deals to be made though.
MAKE SURE you get a U.S. version of the camera! Else, you'll get no warranty and no service from licensed vendors.- eagles2k3, on 02/15/2008, -0/+2this comment is crap. This company is just a bunch of con artists. I've heard other stories from poeple who have tried to do business with them.
- happyseamonster, on 02/15/2008, -0/+7THEY ARE THIEVES AVOID! http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Best_Price_Ca ...
- DaffyDuck, on 02/15/2008, -3/+23This has nothing to do with Apple.
- ShawnKing, on 02/15/2008, -7/+2Agreed but where do you think it would be better placed/suited? There is no "Photography" section on Digg.....
- Heretushi, on 02/15/2008, -0/+10How about "Technology > World and BUSINESS" ? You know, when talking about a business. That does business.
- Cloudime, on 02/15/2008, -0/+5"Photography section"??
You obviously have no idea where you should be submitting things.
- ShawnKing, on 02/15/2008, -7/+2Agreed but where do you think it would be better placed/suited? There is no "Photography" section on Digg.....
- AzleGamer, on 02/15/2008, -1/+17First thing I saw with this story was an Aperture Science logo...I think I need help
- angusm, on 02/15/2008, -0/+11It's no surprise to see that the "About Us" page on their website says that they're located in Brooklyn. There are a number of very shady "camera stores" in Brooklyn (and the number seems larger than it is, because each one operates under a variety of names), allegedly run by Russian criminals. The best you can hope for is aggressive attempts to upsell you to a more expensive package, or inflated delivery fees. Other common tactics include selling gray-market imports or refurbs at new US prices, taking an order and then saying "We can't get that camera ... but we can sell you this one instead." If you don't let them talk you into buying something you don't want, the item you have ordered may be back-ordered indefinitely ... and good luck trying to cancel the order and get a refund. And then of course there are the orders that just never get delivered.
There are so many sharks operating out of Brooklyn that it's simply not worth doing business with any camera or electronics store that has a Brooklyn address.
See: http://www.thomashawk.com/2005/11/priceritephoto-a ... and http://www.pcworld.com/article/id,107855-page,1/ar ... for more about Brooklyn camera stores.- BossKey, on 02/15/2008, -0/+1Aaaaand that's why photographers call that neighborhood "Crooklyn."
- mydigglogin, on 02/15/2008, -0/+7Here's what these Brooklyn stores look like - http://donwiss.com/pictures/BrooklynStores/
Do yourself a favor and buy at reputable stores, like B&H and Adorama. It's not worth the risk and hassle to go for the lowest advertised price. - simongzster, on 02/15/2008, -1/+14Wow, scams on the internet. Next think you know they'll be porn and unsolicited emails.
- misterpony, on 02/15/2008, -0/+2I think I've seen this movie before.
- mooseontheloose, on 02/15/2008, -1/+3Umm... duh?
- matthewdestroys, on 02/15/2008, -0/+3grey market cameras.
- minoss, on 02/15/2008, -0/+3"IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, IT IS!"
People have not learned this yet? - Atom, on 02/15/2008, -0/+3I almost bought my G9 off of them until i did a little research. Just googling their name gave me enough reasons to stay away
- eclectro, on 02/15/2008, -2/+1I didn't digg because I don't want them calling me and saying they were going to beat me up.
- inferno10, on 02/15/2008, -0/+2The main three online retailers you can trust are bhphotovideo.com, adorama.com, and buydig.com. They all have excellent reseller ratings. I've had no troubles with any of them whatsoever, and no upsell.
- BPShirase, on 02/15/2008, -0/+4THEY'RE STILL I BUSINESS? They were all over digg for unsavory business practices a few years back. (pricerite photo, best price camera, and some other pseudo store front. The company supposedly changing owner management etc everytime a problem was reported)
- CaviMike, on 02/15/2008, -0/+3Yet people keep buying from them.
Check out the new & improved